Home » Welcome » Committees


The Executive makes the day-to-day decisions and is elected through a vote of the membership every year. Major decisions are made directly by a vote of the membership at General Meetings which are held at least four times in an Academic year.

Constitution and By-Laws

How to make motions at meetings 

Members can volunteer to serve on the Executive and several KUCFA committees.

Executive  2017-18
Chair Ben Muller
Vice-Chair Anisha Datta
Past Chair Peter Ibbott
Secretary/Treasurer Jennifer Jeffrey
OCUFA Director Lynne Jackson
CBC Chair Stephanie Bangarth
Grievance Committee Chair Jaquie Newman
Equity Officer Cathy Chovaz

The Executive Committee is responsible for the day-to-day operation of the Association and is also responsible for operations during the period between the final Association meeting in the spring and the first meeting in the fall.

COMMITEES  2017-18
Collective Bargaining Committee (CBC)
Stephanie Bangarth(Chair)
Pat Ryan
Hui Feng
Anisha Datta
Rick Csiernik
The Collective Bargaining Committee bargains for approved Association proposals regarding salary, benefits, professional and research funds; conditions of employment for faculty (such as academic freedom, tenure, promotions, family leave, grievance procedures, etc.) and meets with the appropriate Board committee to bargain for the approved Association proposals.
Grievance Committee
Jacquetta Newman (Chair)
Kristin Lozanski
Andrew Mantulak
Chris Roney (Past Chair)
Coby Dowdell (Alternate)

The Grievance Committee advises faculty members regarding possible grievances, makes recommendations as to whether the Association supports a grievance and, if requested, assists faculty members during the grievance process.

Grievance Mediation Panel (minimum of six tenured faculty)
Laura Beres
Rick Csiernik
Wendy Ellis
JK Kato
Don Kerr
Laura Lewis
If a grievance proceeds to mediation two members of this panel will be chosen by lottery for the Mediation Committee.

Joint Health and Safety Representatives
Allyson Larkin
Rosemary Vito

Joint Employment Equity Committee Representative
Cathy Chovaz
Jacquetta Newman

Nominating Committee
Peter Ibbott (Chair)
The Nominating Committee ensures that a complete slate of nominees is presented to the membership for all elections.

Social Committee
Liam Kennedy
Andrew Mantulak
The Social Committee arranges and oversees the social functions of the Association.

John Siambanopoulos
The auditor conducts and audit at the end of the fiscal year. The auditor is not on the Executive and is approved by the membership.

Equity Officer
Cathy Chovaz
The Equity Officer is on the Executive and leads educational and advocacy activities for the Association regarding human rights and equity issues.

OCUFA Director
Lynne Jackson
The OCUFA Director is on the Executive and communicates with the membership about OCUFA, attends and reports on OCUFA Board meetings and seeks direction from the Executive or general membership about any action to be taken.

Pension Committee
Adam Bohnet
Stephanie Bangarth
Grigori Erenburg
Trevor Hunter
Christine Laverence
Thomas Teiku
Ben Muller